Hush

Kate White

HarperCollins, 2011

Agent: Sandra Dijkstra

New York Times best-selling author - and Cosmopolitan's former editor-in-chief - returns with a sizzling thriller in which an ordinary woman flees the scene of a murder and realizes it's not just the law that's hunting her.

When Lake Warren learns that her husband, Jack, is suing for full custody of their two kids four months after their separation, she's pretty certain that things can't get any worse. The upside is that she's working with the Advanced Fertility Center as a marketing consultant, alongside the attractive, flirtatious Dr. Keaton. But the morning after their one-night stand, Lake finds Keaton with his throat slashed and discovers that things can indeed become worse-they can become deadly. So as not to jeopardize her case for custody, Lake is forced to lie to the police.

Having just been intimate with a man who has been murdered, and wanting to protect herself from being charged with the crime, she begins her own search for the truth. Meanwhile, the police start looking at her closely, people at the clinic start treating her with hostility, and strange clues begin dropping-quite literally-on her doorstep, and Lake realizes that she is dangerously close to dark secrets, both about Keaton and the clinic. But can Lake stop what she's started before it's too late?

Reviews:
“In her first stand-alone thriller, White (known for her Bailey Weggins series, most recently Lethally Blonde) effectively blends mommy-lit issues with murder and suspense. Verdict: The mix of family pressures and murderous suspense makes this a page-turner that will appeal to readers of Michele Martinez, Lisa Unger, and Karen Rose.”
Library Journal
 

 “…[Hush is a] stand-alone thriller that generates a real sense of jeopardy while avoiding clich├ęs…A subplot about the clinic’s questionable practices adds to the tension, but doesn’t detract from the main plot with its myriad twists.”
Publishers Weekly
 
 
“Kate White places her wily heroine in a real jam, then keeps her, as well as readers, asking ‘Whodunit?’ right up till the gripping finale.”
Sandra Brown, author of Rainwater
 
 
“A nerve-jangling adrenaline rush!  From the first sentence to the last, Kate White catapaults you into a tense vortex of deceit, danger, and double-crosses, where one wrong word is all it takes to lose everything. When in doubt, hush...”
Lisa Gardner
 

“Utterly compelling . . . A classic page turner.”
Karin Slaughter, author of Undone
 

“Dark, sexy, and smart, Hush is a pulse-pounding thriller that’s both chilling and provocative. Once you start reading, you won’t be able to stop – or guess who or why – until the very end. A stunningly good read.”
Linda Fairstein, author of Hell Gate

 
“Sexy and suspenseful, Kate White’s Hush is a true page-turner. The subtle twists and turns on the glamorous streets of New York City are going to thrill White’s longtime fans and earn her a legion of brand new readers. A clever, fast-paced thriller!” 
Lisa Unger, author of Die for You and Beautiful Lies