Indu Sundaresan

Indu Sundaresan was born and brought up in India, on Air Force bases around the country. Her father, a fighter pilot with the Indian Air Force, was also an avid storyteller—as was his father, Indu’s grandfather. She grew up on their stories on various themes—Hindu mythology and fictional tales of an elephant and a horse living in the wilderness.

She came to the U.S. for graduate school at the University of Delaware and has two degrees; an M.S. in operations research and an M.A. in economics. But, the storytelling gene beckoned and she began writing soon after graduate school.

The Twentieth Wife (2002), based on the life of Mehrunnisa, Empress Nur Jahan, is the tale of one of India’s most powerful women. This was her first published novel, but the third one she wrote—the first two still languish on the hard drive of some forgotten old computer and are never to be revived; they were practice runs and taught her how to write a novel.

She is the author of six books so far. The Twentieth Wife (2002); The Feast of Roses (2003); The Splendor of Silence(2006); In the Convent of Little Flowers (2008), Shadow Princess (2010) and The Mountain of Light (2013).

All of Indu’s work has been published, in hardcover and paperback, in the U.S. by Pocket Books/Atria Books/Washington Square Press—imprints of Simon & Schuster. Her work has been translated into 20 languages to date.

Website | Facebook

Books by Indu Sundaresan

The Mountain Of Light

Simon & Schuster, 2013

Shadow Princess: A Novel

Simon & Schuster, 2011

The Splendor Of Silence: A Novel

Simon & Schuster, 2006

The Feast Of Roses: A Novel

Pocket Books/S&S, 2003

The Twentieth Wife: A Novel

Pocket Books/S&S, 2002