Where Dreams Descend

Janella Angeles

Wednesday/St. Martin's, 2020

Agent: Thao Le

In a city covered in ice and ruin, a group of magicians face off in a daring game of magical feats to find the next headliner of the Conquering Circus, only to find themselves under the threat of an unseen danger striking behind the scenes.

As each act becomes more and more risky and the number of missing magicians piles up, three are forced to reckon with their secrets before the darkness comes for them next.

The Star: Kallia, a powerful showgirl out to prove she’s the best no matter the cost

The Master: Jack, the enigmatic keeper of the club, and more than one lie told

The Magician: Demarco, the brooding judge with a dark past he can no longer hide

Where Dreams Descend is the startling and romantic first book in Janella Angeles’ debut Kingdom of Cards fantasy duology where magic is both celebrated and feared, and no heart is left unscathed.

Accolades:

• Featured in BuzzFeed's "29 YA Fantasy Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2020"

Reviews:
"Perfect for fans of Moulin Rouge and The Phantom of the Opera, Angeles' debut is spectacular, spectacular!"
BuzzFeed

"A lush, captivating blend of The Phantom of the Opera and fresh, new magic."
Kirkus (starred)

"Janella Angeles steals the 2020 show with her fiercely imagined debut starring larger than life characters, a dangerous world alive with magic, and a dizzying dose of grab-a-fainting-couch-and-swoon-away romance!"
Roshani ChokshiNew York Times bestselling author of the Aru Shah series, The Star-Touched Queen, and The Gilded Wolves

"Vibrant imagery, jaw-dropping set pieces, sizzling romantic tension, and unstoppable heroine Kallia bring this ambitious debut novel to spectacular life. Fans of Caraval and The Night Circus will be delighted!"
Claire LegrandNew York Times bestselling author of Furyborn  

“Lavish and opulent in a way that feels warmly familiar yet demands your attention. There are secrets upon secrets, a girl who’s boldly ambitious, and truly riveting stage magic. I didn’t want the show to stop.” 
Emily A. DuncanNew York Times bestselling author of Wicked Saints

"[A] spellbinding melody of a book, and the true magic is how Angeles puts all the best parts of an enrapturing theatrical performance onto paper and ink. From the gripping twists in the first pages all the way to the final, heartbreaking crescendo, Where Dreams Descend will surge you to your feet in a standing ovation.” 
—Sara RaaschNew York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes trilogy