Courtney Angela Brkic

Courtney Angela Brkic is the author of The First Rule of Swimming (Little, Brown, and Company, 2013), Stillness: and Other Stories (FSG, 2003) andThe Stone Fields (FSG, 2004). Her work has also appeared in ZoetropeThe New York TimesThe Washington Post MagazineHarpers & Queen, theUtne ReaderTriQuarterly ReviewThe Alaska Review and National Geographic, among others. Brkic has been the recipient of a Fulbright scholarship, a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts and a Whiting Writer’s Award. Stillness was named a Barnes and Noble Discover pick, a 2003 Chicago Tribune "Best Book" and a 2003 New York Times "Notable Book". The Stone Fields was shortlisted for a Freedom of Expression Award by the Index on Censorship. She lives outside of Washington, DC, with her husband and son, and teaches in the MFA program at George Mason University.


Books by Courtney Angela Brkic

The First Rule of Swimming: A Novel

Little, Brown & Co., 2013

The Stone Fields: An Epitaph for the Living

Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2004

Stillness: and Other Stories

Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2003